top of page
Search
  • jlumlung

Smart Comedy

Lately I have been noticing a huge trend in comedic films that seem to bother my quite a lot. Films like Playing with Fire and Good Boys are keen examples of comedies that seem to not generate a good enough comedic effect in my opinion. What I have seen recently is nothing more than jokes that appeal to a child like audience whether if it is the usual flatulent trope or vulgar trick. Of course jokes like this can be comedic but only if done right and recently not many comedies seem to follow through such a concept. Whenever I view a modern comedy I would always compare it to the smart material of the comedy troop Monty Python who I believe are the true kings of comedy.


Monty Python was able to produce many smart jokes that can appeal to a massive audience. Of course not many people would understand the jokes now due to the constant flooding of half baked comedic material but if you understand political challenges as well as commonplace customs then you can find Monty Python to be genius left in the dark. Whether if they are poking fun at the mundane life of a charter accountant or deliberately insulting the whole Christian religion, their material knows no bounds. They seem to have created ideas that not only make us laugh but also think on a philosophical level. I mean I think to myself day and night on why someone would ever sell someone a dead parrot or why can't lumberjacks be feminine? Of course the thoughts that come to mind are quite arbitrary and completely outrageous. But I truly respect the mental quality the Monty Python group has provided me through their various sketches. And I don't seem to be thinking a lot through many comedies today. And I think that is what a lot of the comedic films are missing. A chance for us to think and reevaluate our personal ideals. Nowadays the formula is just to make us laugh. But films should set that aside and bring in the original formula of comedy.


Luckily there are certain types of content that still maintain this form of comedy that seem quite oblivious to a great number of people. Shows like Family Guy and Rick and Morty are able to produce such results similar to Monty Python. Even films such as Deadpool is able to maintain such an outcome. Despite it being a superhero film it has the resemblance of Monty Python and the Holy Grail where both stories have 4th wall breaks, anti hero like characters and rebellious ideals towards major figures. I hope the future generation of comedic films begin to step up their originality and think factor otherwise the future holds nothing more than cheap childish style comedies with a massive spread of stand up comedians.


2 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page